Print This Post Print This Post

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award Professor Thomas Nagel, of New York University, the 2008 Rolf Schock Prize in Logic and Philosophy. This is the eighth time the Prize has been awarded. Earlier laureates are W.V. Quine, M. Dummett, D. Scott, J. Rawls, S. Kripke, S. Feferman and J. Hintikka.

There is a symposium for Thomas Nagel being held at the the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm on 21 October 2008.

The 2008 Rolf Schock laureate in logic and philosophy, Thomas Nagel, has made important contributions to many areas within philosophy, especially the philosophy of mind, epistemology, metaphysics and political philosophy. This symposium in honor of Thomas Nagel will focus on some central themes in his thinking, namely what it means to have reasons for
beliefs and for actions, and the possibility to reduce all knowledge to science.

10.30 ”Realism about Reasons”
Thomas Scanlon, Harvard University, U.S.A

12.00 Lunch

13.30 ”Motivation”
John Broome, Oxford University, U.K

15.00 Coffee

15.30 “Antireductionism and the Natural Order”
Thomas Nagel, New York University, U.S.A

No registration is required to attend the symposium. Lunch will be at the participants own expense.

If you have any questions regarding the symposium please contact Programcoordinator Astrid Auraldsson (

More information about the Rolf Schock Prize can be found on under prizes.


Comments are closed.

Post a comment

Name: (required)

Email Address: (required) (will not be published)



(Spamcheck Enabled)

This work is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0.