CF: Moral Rationalism
By S. Matthew Liao

Melbourne University will host an international conference on Moral Rationalism, on July 15-17 2013.

Speakers will include: Garett Cullity (Adelaide), David Enoch (Jerusalem), Karen Jones (Melbourne), Jeanette Kennett (Macquarie), Rae Langton (MIT / Cambridge), Julia Markovits (MIT), Tristram McPherson (Melbourne / Virginia Tech), Karl Schafer (Pittsburgh), Francois Schroeter (Melbourne), Laura Schroeter (Melbourne), Michael Smith (Princeton), Nick Southwood (ANU), and Mark van Roojen (Nebraska).

If you wish to attend the conference, please contact Dr. Tristram McPherson: dr.tristram (at) Registration is required (for catering purposes) but free.

The conference is sponsored by an ARC grant (“The Many Moral Rationalisms”) held by Karen Jones, Michael Smith, and François Schroeter.

Punishment book launch
By Thom Brooks

Punishment book launch

The Houses of Parliament

Date: Tuesday, 14 May 2013

Time: 17:00-19:00

Place: Committee Room 3, the Houses of Parliament, London

Punishment is a topic of increasing importance for citizens and policymakers. Why should we punish criminals? What purposes should punishment serve? These questions and many others will be addressed in this roundtable discussion celebrating the launch of Punishment by Thom Brooks. Panel members include:

Lord Parekh FBA (chair), Labour Peer and former Chair of the Commission on the Future of Multi-Ethnic Britain

Frances Crook OBE, Chief Executive of the Howard League for Penal Reform

From Russ Shafer-Landau:

In keeping with its mission of encouraging and recognizing excellence in philosophy, The Marc Sanders Foundation seeks to highlight the importance of ongoing support for the work of younger scholars. As part of this commitment, the Foundation has dedicated resources to an ongoing essay competition, designed to promote excellent research and writing in metaethics on the part of younger scholars.

June 8th-9th, Northwestern University

Speakers & Commentators:

Harry Brighouse (Wisconsin), David Ebrey (Northwestern), Kristján Kristjánsson (Birmingham), Rachana Kamtekar (Arizona), Gavin Lawrence (UCLA), Rachel Barney (Toronto), Randall Curren (Rochester), Agnes Callard (Chicago), Kyla Ebels-Duggan (Northwestern), Gabriel Richardson Lear (Chicago), Sophie Haroutunian-Gordon (Northwestern), Emily Fletcher (Wisconsin), Joseph Barnes (UC Berkeley / Humboldt), Richard Kraut (Northwestern), Darcia Narvaez (Notre Dame), Joseph Karbowski (Notre Dame)

This work is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0.