Print This Post Print This Post

We are pleased to announce a Call for Papers for the Inaugural Marc Sanders Award for Public Philosophy. We hope that this award will incentivize and draw attention to excellent new long-form public philosophy.

We invite submissions of unpublished essays (minimum 3,000 words, maximum 10,000) with significant philosophical content or method by authors with significant philosophical training addressed primarily to the general reader. There is no restriction to any area of philosophy. In particular, there is no restriction to practical philosophy.

The Award for the winning essay is $4,500 and publication in Philosophers’ Imprint. Philosophers’ Imprint is a free online journal specializing in major original contributions to philosophy. The Committee will help to cross-post the winning essay in popular online venues. There will also be an opportunity for the winners to present their work directly to a general audience. Details to follow.

The Award Committee is Chaired by Susan Wolf, Edna J. Koury Distinguished Professor of Philosophy at UNC Chapel Hill. The other committee members are Patricia O’Toole, Professor of Literary Nonfiction at Columbia University School of the Arts and Pulitzer Prize finalist, Thomas Hofweber, Professor of Philosophy at UNC Chapel Hill, and Barry Maguire, Research Assistant Professor at UNC Chapel Hill.

Deadline: 10 December 2016:
Please submit your entry to Please include the essay title in the Subject line. Receipt of submissions will be acknowledged by email. Refereeing will be blind; authors should omit all remarks and references that might disclose their identities. Unlike other Marc Sanders Prizes there is no restriction to junior candidates. Philosophers at any career stage are encouraged to submit. No more than one submission per person. Previously published essays will not be considered. The winner will be determined by the committee and will be announced in March 2017.

Any inquiries should be sent to Barry Maguire at


Comments are closed.

Post a comment

Name: (required)

Email Address: (required) (will not be published)



(Spamcheck Enabled)

This work is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0.